Today I’m Making – Ankle Socks in Spain

I’m just back from holiday in Tenerife, I stayed at the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort which was all new to me.  I have never stayed in a 5* all inclusive resort before and to be honest I’ve always turned my nose up at all-inclusive but I’m a changed woman now.  I loved it, it was all very fancy but very chilled and calm and I’d definitely go back.  I’d go back for the slippers alone.

imageimageimage

This is the view from the lobby cafe bar with a rare picture of me, I take terrible pictures and in this one I look like I’ve lost my eyebrows in some sort of accident that’s left one side of my face swollen. It’s probably something to do with my high mojito content by this point.

imageimage

On my last holiday in Greece I made a load of flower puffs towards making a blanket, and I need to make another 600-odd so I really should have taken that project with me, what with the ease of making the flowers and the simple portability of small crochet projects but my friend has started making her first pair of socks and I’ve been suffering from crushing sock envy ever since so…. Socks in Spain.

Last year I was knitting a pair of tiger stripe socks in Skiathos, they were the first pair I made and I’m very fond of them but they are quite big and baggy on me.  I wear them as fall-down socks but I prefer ankle socks so I’ve not made any more the same length since.

I bought the yarn for these ones I think at the Knitting & Stitching Show at Olympia in March, I think it was there but to be honest I buy so much its hard to keep track of what came from where.  Anyway, I remember it being on a stall in a basket full of sock yarn that was ridiculously cheap – something like £2.50 a 50g ball and it was nice stuff too, mine is Drops Fabel Print no. 677 in Green/Turquoise.  It comes out in varying width stripes of several shades of blue and green and feels fantastic.

imageimageimage

I based them on the pattern that came with the sock kit I bought from Knit’n’Caboodle but I made the rib shallower, the cuff is a lot shorter and I adjusted the foot length so that they fit my foot exactly.

The other thing that’s different is the cast-off at the toe, it was supposed to be Kitchener stitch but I forgot to take a yarn needle away with me so I did a double row cast off instead.  To be honest its probably for the best because I’ve been blessed with the sort of toe nails that if not carefully restrained turn sharp enough to cut through steel overnight so  bit of extra reinforcement there won’t go amiss.  They do have a bit of a funny ridge across the toes but I’m not planning to wear them with sandals so it won’t matter.

imageimageimage

I only finished one sock and that was on the flight home so I’m going to have to get a move on with the other one because I want to wear them to Kirstie Allsopp’s Handmade Fair on Saturday.

image  Since this photo was taken I have started on the heel flap. I’m quietly confident.

Leave a Reply

