Today I’m Making – Wapiti Shawl by Cabinfour

I bought this gorgeous yarn from I Knit London about a month ago, Its the Shangri La hand dyed merinimageo in Pool Party which is a soft white with teal and turquoise. Its very much like a Greek holiday with the little white houses, the blue of the sea and sky and that gorgeous blue they use for window frames and doors. I love it and want to make something special with it.

And that is where my trouble started.  First of all I intended to make a Hitchhiker scarf but I’ve made one of those before and for no reason other than that I went off the idea. Well, if I’m honest there is another reason, I know someone else who made one a few years ago and hers was really baggy and she wears saggy old 80’s dippy hippy clothes and she put me off.

I’d seen a lovely shawl pattern called Knit Night that has lovely beaded picot edges and is designed to show off hand dyed yarn so I started making that.  A couple of false starts later and I was away.  I’ve started going to the Thursday knitting group at I Knit London so I took it along.  Beaded knitting gripping a small tube of beads between your knees drinking Swedish fruit cider made me realise I might not have thought this through properly and the beads were all the wrong colour and made the picots look scruffy.  Shawl #1 frogged.

Then I decided I’d still make the Knit Night shawl, just without the beads.  Marvellous.  Not very far in I got bored with garter stitch and thought my picots were too close together.  Shawl #2 frogged.

Started again with a an off the cuff variation of Knit Night, I spaced the picots out a bit more and imagethrew in some random stocking stitch to show off the yarn more.  This was really good and I was really happy with it, took it along to the Knit Night and another bottle of cider later realised it was getting enormously long and not at all deep because I was using smaller needles than the original Knit Night pattern and my extended spacing between the picots was short-changing the depth. I was into the second hank of yarn and over 500 stitches per row by now so to give up would be a big decision and a bit of a trauma with all the rewinding and so on…. Shawl #3 frogged.

Where did I see the Wapiti shawl by Cabinfour?  Its on Ravelry here:Wapiti Shawl. It has a lot of garter stitch in it aimagend nothing fancy to distract you from the yarn. Nearly everyone else has done theirs in two solid colours. I’m hoping that the mixture of garter and stocking stitch shows through enough against the colour changes.

Look, if it doesn’t work out, I can always go back to the Hitchhiker.  You can’t go wrong with Hitchhiker.  .

Leave a Reply

