Today I’m making… cardi for a 6-12mth old

I’m making good progress on this little cardigan – this was the subject of a ‘today I’m making post back in February’ if you remember…

SAM_1702SAM_1704SAM_1703SAM_1701

It always takes me forever to finish things because I have so many projects on the go at once, not only do I only work on what I’m in the mood for at any particular time every time I get a snood order of course I have to concentrate on that, then I try to build up a bit of snood stock so little cardis like this are lucky to get a look in.

I love this vintage pattern. Its really nice to knit and I would like to make it a regular item.  I’ve nearly finished this little oatmeal version, because I’ve managed to dedicate most of yesterday and today’s knitting time to working on it. I hope to finish the knitting tonight and might be able to sew it up on Wednesday, snood orders allowing.

I made a cabled toddler cardigan using this very same yarn several years ago for a work colleague’s little girl. A friend of mine bumped into him recently and he told her its still going strong! Really, it must be five or six years old.  It was his daughter’s favourite cardigan and when she outgrew it his son wore it and its been a firm favourite in their house.  I’m utterly delighted with that bit of news! And to think some people turn their nose up at acrylic yarn. I think you can’t beat it for little ones, its so hard wearing and modern acrylic yarn has a much nicer texture. This stuff in particular – Its a Stylecraft cheapo is lovely and soft.

Leave a Reply

