Today I’m making… 1940s style hair snoods

I sell these in my Etsy shop www.etsy.com/shop/ginpoodle  I try to keep some in stock but more often than not I end up making them to order, the thing is I make them in so many colours that just by the law of averages whenever someone buys one it’s going to be in a colour or size that I don’t have ready and waiting.  This is not a problem I can make them pretty quickly and I like doing them.

Image

Today I have sold a cornflower blue one and a black one, both of them will be off to New Zealand on Monday.

SAM_1667  SAM_1667

If you don’t know what a snood is, it’s not always a big floppy scarf, these are the type you wear on your head – here are some vintage pictures of women wearing them. This is my favourite version, I make them with ribbon or elastic. There are other types available but personally I’m not keen on a lot of the other styles.

nice snoodCrochet-snoodsnood sketch

If you Google ‘vintage snood’ you’ll find loads of pictures of vintage loving women wearing all types of snoods and looking frankly amazing. Try accessorising one with a big flower, they’re perfect for bad hair days. If you need a hand working out how to wear it have a look at this excellent guide, unfortunately she’s not wearing one of mine but you can’t have everything…

 

http://caseykoester.wordpress.com/2012/01/05/how-to-wear-a-crocheted-snood/

One thought on “Today I’m making… 1940s style hair snoods

  1. Hi Tanis!

    Thanks so much for linking back to me! Haha, I am in need of some different colored snoods. I’ll have to take another look at your shop!

    ~Casey

Leave a Reply

