Knitting Group – Bit of a disappointment

Tonight was the Fleet machine knitters group – hand knitters and crocheters also welcome.

I like my knitting group, they’re a lovely bunch and the organisers get some great speakers or think of some very interesting themes. Its only once a month and I always look forward to knit night.  Tonight we had a talk from a knitting pattern designer who shall remain nameless.

The main problem was she designs for large sizes, so without being rude she’s was a large lady herself so standing right in front of the screen meant I could only really see the bottom left section of the screen she was projecting her presentation on.  Though what I did see of the presentation was deadly dull.  Here’s my best tip for those of you giving presentations.  Please don’t do dozens of slides of text that you then basically read out very slowly.  Its torture.

She did have some samples, swatches, leaflets and bits and bobs, but she kept her body turned towards the left side two thirds of the room and would only turn her head in our direction once in a while, so of all the stuff she brought I only clearly saw ONE thing. I left as soon as I could without looking rude.

Oh yes the other thing that irritated me was when she was talking about grading patterns, at one point she talked about selling a pattern to a major magazine and found that the pattern editor graded it down so that the size range was for 8-24 instead of 16-24.  What annoyed me was that she complained that they’d made it available to ‘sticks’ when it was meant for curves.  Well let me tell you lady, being a plus size does not make you more ‘real’ it just makes you a plus size and being a size 8 or 10 does not mean you are a stick. I’ve got curves a-plenty in my size 8-12 body and I won’t be swamping them in your clunky designs.

I did manage to do 10 rows of a nice variegated pink snood and had a lovely chat with Phyllis about Unravel at Farnham last week.  I love Phyllis.

There was a nice bit of Show and Tell at the start so I’m glad I went, that’s the best bit having a squizz at what other people have made.  Someone did the most gorgeous heavily cabled cardigan.

Leave a Reply

