Today I’m Making… Vintage style matinee coat

Today’s project is a knitted baby’s matinee coat, or a cardigan if you prefer. This one is 6 – 12 months, I’ve made one of these already in quite a strong pink in the smaller size – 0 -6months, its listed in my Ginpoodle Etsy shop here: https://www.etsy.com/listing/119207159/babys-pink-vintage-style-cardigan-size-1
SAM_1606

I used this same oatmeal yarn to make a toddler’s cable cardigan a few years ago, its lovely yarn, nice and soft and the oatmeal colour is a fantastic neutral.  I’d say it would go with pretty much anything, its as good as a black for being versatile.

 

This pattern must be somewhere between 30 – 40 years old by my reckoning, its lovely to knit so I’m happy to make more of them. If you’re interested in a specific colour please do get in touch either leave me a message here or contact me via my Etsy shop.  I’d say this looks very modern, there are only three buttons at the top and its nice and full at the bottom half with a gorgeous raised leaf repeating motif.  I’d quite like one of these in an adult size myself.

I don’t know about you but I love a vintage knitting pattern, look at that baby’s rosy cheeks! I reckon there must be plenty of vintage loving parents out there who like vintage baby wear too but either don’t want to or can’t knit themselves.

Leave a Reply

