Union Jack Keyring

I made this gold, silver and bronze keyring in January this year at the Fleet Library Beading Workshop.  Again the tutor appears to have nicked this pattern from a magazine – is it just me that thinks she’s cheating? She passes the designs off as her own – even apportioning copyright to the text but then includes photocopies from magazines. I think that’s a bit rich.

Anyway, gripes about design theft aside, I like working in brickstitch, I like my beading to be neat and problems with tension are not an issue with brickstitch. If you look closely you’ll see it looks a bit hairy – that’s because I stuffed mine with kapok, everyone else left theirs flat and mine is much better if I say so myself. If I were to make another one I’d stuff it with felt and save myself the bother of snipping away at what looks like gooseberry fluff for hours.

I have this on my own set of home and car keys and it’s lasting very well indeed.  In fact I did think about making a pattern of my own and then making some more to sell  but then again I worry that they might be a bit twee. I have a bit of a horror of tweeness.

The colourway was more about using up odds and ends in my stash than the Olympics but I can’t deny it ties in very well.

Leave a Reply

